The Association


The Association of Translators and Interpreters of Saskatchewan (ATIS) is a non-profit professional association and an affiliate of the Canadian Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters Council (CTTIC). It is the only association of certified translators and interpreters in the province of Saskatchewan. A volunteer board of directors manages the ATIS. The board is elected annually during the ATIS Annual General Meeting (AGM), usually held in the Fall.



The Association of Translators and Interpreters of Saskatchewan (ATIS) aims to ensure high professional standards in all translation and interpretation services provided in the province.


Services and Activities

ATIS services and activities include:

  • Representation of Saskatchewan translators and interpreters at CTTIC
  • Administration of ATIS admission exams, on dossier certification process and CTTIC certification exams
  • Information for translators and interpreters on professional ethics and practices
  • Professional development for aspiring and practising translators and interpreters
  • Visibility for Saskatchewan translation and interpretation industry, particularly for its members in good standing



The Association of Translators and Interpreters of Saskatchewan (ATIS) was incorporated in 1980 with the aim of fostering and promoting translation and interpretation in the province. It was formed by a group of Founding Members with a common interest in and concern for translation and interpretation.

Their aim was to foster and promote these professions in the province and to provide representation from Saskatchewan on the national Canadian Translators, Terminologists, and Interpreters Council (CTTIC), a member society of the Fédération internationale des traducteurs (FIT).


Past Presidents

1980-1981                  Bernard Wilhelm
1981-1984                  Brian Rainey
1984-1987                  Herta Holle-Scherer
1987-1990                  Joan Boyer
1990-1992                  Nicolle Sauvage
1992-1995                  Brian Rainey
1996 (Jan-May)           Joan Boyer
1996-1999                  Catherine Laratte
1999-2002                  Patrick Douaud
2002- 2005                 Elisabet Ràfols-Sagués
2005-2009                  Sybile Tremblay
2009-2011                  Elisabet Ràfols-Sagués
2011-2014                  Robert Jerrett
2014-2015                  Elisabet Ràfols-Sagués 
2015-2018                  Cristina Torres de la Hoz  
2018-2020                  Estelle Bonetto